Pages

Showing posts with label fitness. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fitness. Show all posts

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Reflecting on Running.


Although I haven't had much time to blog about life lately, I decided I needed to at least do one post on my thoughts on running as of late. It is strange, in a way, how running has evolved for me.  Running has been my everything from a demise, an escape, an obsession, a chore to a feat.  As it turns out, each of these feelings has much more to do with ME than has to do with RUNNING.  This "sport" is all mental.

In general, I wouldn't consider myself especially competitive.  I don't race to win, and I don't feel bad about it. That being said, I am a goal-setter, and I like to follow through.  Each race, each run even, has a different story, a different purpose, a different goal.  

From the beginning of the year, my goal has been to finish a half-marathon in the fall.  I didn't start back into running consistently until nearly July, when my schedule was more free and I felt "ready".  It took me about a week to run a mile without walking, and about 2 weeks to finish 2 miles without walking.  SLOW miles.  But, it felt good.  In a way, I enjoyed starting back at nearly zero... it meant I had somewhere to go, and that is much less boring than status quo.  I maintained a 2-3 mile walk/run until early September when I decided to get serious.  

I signed up for a half on Nov. 9th.  That meant three months to go from 3 miles to 13 miles, all while working full time and spending time with my husband and baby.  I decided that my schedule could only really allow for 3 runs a week, so I made that work.  That meant 2 "short" runs during the week, and one long run on Saturday.  I absolutely could not have committed to this without the support of my husband.  Fast forward about one week, and our entire family got sick... for nearly 3 weeks.  GAH! I continued to run here and there, but was not making much progress.  October came and I kicked it up. 

I've learned that I HATE maintenance runs during the week.  Those runs are chores.  Short, fast, and definitely not cathartic. However, I have also learned that I LOVE a long run on Saturday.  I would look forward to those early mornings watching the sun come up, spending an hour in the fresh air, with nothing hanging over my head for the day.  It is the best way to start a weekend!

Fast forward, November 9th, race day!  Long story short: I did it! My goal for the day was not to walk, and to finish between 2:15 and 2:20.  Official time for me: 2:19:30!  It was a good run... not one I'm looking forward to doing again anytime soon, but I did feel ready, and I survived a fairly nasty hill.  
Justin ran, too! Stud...
So where to go from here? I'm not quite sure. I'd like to keep up my longer Saturday runs, and probably run here and there during the week, when I have time.  I don't want to lose my momentum, but I am also looking forward to some more free time.  Running 10 miles takes a long time!!  I'm thinking a short hiatus is in my future, but I hope to do another race late spring. It's all about balance right? :)

To any one of you 3 people reading this, if you are considering a race, do it!  There is really nothing quite like accomplishing a goal you've worked hard to earn.  

Thursday, April 4, 2013

A bad run.

I should know better by now than to think that each time I head out the door for a run it will be faster, longer and more gratifying than the one before.  Welp, not true.

This weekend I planned to do an 8 mile run on Saturday.  As soon as I woke up, I knew it wasn't going to be a good "running day".  I was still exhausted from the week, and I flat out just wasn't feeling it.  Still, I dressed up, and decided I better do SOMETHING or else I'd really be screwed for the 10-mile race I have planned next weekend, and the 1/2 planned for the weekend following.

After running some errands (to Ulta- woot! woot!), I just parked at a Walgreens and decided to get my butt out there and start going.  Goal: 4 miles.  It was a route I knew, but hadn't run in about 4 years.  After one mile, I was dead, but for some reason was maintaining a 9:45 pace.  I managed the second mile because it was down hill, about died on the 3rd mile, and decided to walk for a few minutes.  I ran the final mile back to my car and felt so defeated.  I know 4 miles is good... but it wasn't good for me, especially at this point in training.

In an attempt to make myself feel better, I came up with a million excuses as to why it wasn't a good run. I even googled "bad run during 1/2 marathon training" in hopes that the Internet would tell me I could still run a good distance.  haha.

So, why do I write about this? Well, for one, I'm hoping that it will help ME remember that it's not always easy peasy.  And for two, maybe some of you (hi the 5 of you who read this! :) have experienced the same thing, and have also thought about giving up at this point.

For good measure, I woke up Sunday and decided to give it another whirl.  I didn't go 8 miles, but I did go 6 with little to no problems (other than dying of thirst).  So, I'm sure I'll be fine for the next two weekends.  And really, what's the wost that can happen? Maybe I walk? Maybe I don't get a PR? I'll still finish.

Whew.  Didn't know I had so much to say about this.  If you're still reading, thanks :) I'm going to attempt to catch up on some blogging this week.

Hope your week is great!

Monday, March 11, 2013

Move it Monday: 5 weeks left!

Wow, time is flying! There are only 5 weeks (really more like 4 and a half) until the Rock the Parkway 1/2 Marathon.  When I signed up for this race in September (nothing like 6+ months to procrastinate prepare for another race) my only goal was to finish. Now, I'd like a PR. Maybe 2:10??? We shall see.  I got a little bored of running throughout December and January, but I'm happy that I've caught the bug again and am feeling more motivated to hit the concrete.

Last week I managed a 4 mile run (at a PR for me! 9:15 pace), Ballet Booty (my last class as the instructor is moving to Paris, touche'), a 1 mile (yes, one) trail run that ended early due to soaking wet, frozen feet, and topped it off on Saturday with a 10-mile morning run. I'm trying to step it up knowing I'll be off my routine for a little while.

In hopes of staying on top of training throughout the next 5 weeks, I've decided to sign up for a 10 mile race on April 6th, one week before the big race.  I did this race last year and was so incredibly proud that I even finished without dying, or walking.  You guys, I finished LAST. No joke.  So, I'm thinking I should go back and redo that one, even it's just for a second-to-last position. :)

Looking at the forecast, it looks like afternoon outdoor runs are in the future! I couldn't be happier.  This is our last month at our gym, and I've learned two things.  1. I'm not a treadmill gal.  2. I really enjoy yoga. I'd definitely join again, but I much prefer to be outdoors.

Linking up with Ashley!

Monday, February 18, 2013

Move it Monday.

So grateful for a 4-day weekend, but oh so exhausted!  We have spent the past two days moving (no where new yet, but more on that to come) and with parent-teacher conferences this week, it's been quite busy around here.  Luckily, I did manage to fit in a few workouts here and there before today as now I have a little cold settling in (enjoy some whine much?).

Honestly, I'm not quite sure how I'm keeping up with running.  I feel like I have been falling off my routine with random things coming up and taking up my evenings.  I've done my best to make it to the gym at least two times per week.  Bored with the treadmill, I've opted for 15 minutes on the stair stepper for a "warm-up" and ohemgee it kicks my butt.  If I'm feeling good, I'll run 2ish faster miles after that, and finish with some ab work.  It's been my go-to routine as of late because it doesn't take too much time, and it isn't boring.

Yesterday I decided to tackle a 8-9 mile outdoor run.  I was dreading this run mostly because I had convinced myself I couldn't do it, but looking forward to it all at the same time.  I NEEDED to prove to myself that I still had it.  And guess what? I survived.  Not only did I survive, but it was the best runner's high I've ever felt.  Around mile 4, I was running, breathing in the cold, thinking that this was the best moment of my whole weekend.  I only wished I could wake up and run through the cold every day.  I NEVER thought I would enjoy running. EVER. It's become a weird sort of therapy and I continue to surprise myself every time I'm able to keep going. Don't you worry, I'm not thinking that this morning.  In fact, I can't quite walk the same :)

Here are my goals for this week.
Tuesday: stairs-gym
Wednesday: ballet booty
Thursday: 3 mile run- gym
Friday: rest
Saturday: long run, 7 or 9
Sunday: rest

Enjoy your week! Linking up with Ashley. (who BTW looks AMAZEBALLS!)  Can't wait 'til her new mama-of-two-booty can get back out on the trails with me :)

-m

Monday, January 21, 2013

Move it Monday.

Linking up again with Ashley for Move it Monday.

Two new additions to my workouts this week included my attempt at a Barbell Strength class at my gym, and some sprint training with J.  I'm happy to report that I've survived both!

Luckily, I found a very nice woman who was able to help me set up for the strength class because ohmygawd you need a bajillion things for that class (weights, clips, step, riser, and the list goes on...).  Even though I was only lifting a maximum of 10 pounds for the whole class, my legs reminded me of those 10 pounds for the rest of the week.  I'll definitely be back again this week.

Sprint training included a 1 mile warm-up and then 3% incline and 5 sets of 60 seconds at 8.5mph followed by 2 minutes at 3.5mph.  Pretty sure I looked like a fool trying to run that "fast", BUT I did it!  I planned to end with a mile run at the end, but the woman on the treadmill next to me proceeded to tell the woman next to her how she had just gotten over the flu.  If you know me, you know I'm a freak about this kind of talk so I high-tailed it out there and then took a bath in hand-sanitizer in my car.  I wish I was kidding....

I also fit in another ballet booty class, and a short trail run this week and ended the week with a 6.5 mile run (wish it were longer, but I was boooored).
via

Here's to keeping it up this week.  PS- I just ate a cookie (and some dough).

Have a good week!
-m

Monday, January 7, 2013

Some Fitness Goals.

Linking up with Ashley for Move it Monday to set some specific fitness goals for this 2013.  It's like an addiction I have, making all these goals and resolutions.   Actually, I've just thought of another goal- make less goals next year and focus on just one or two. :) Before long I'm sure I'll be overwhelmed but for now, here a just a few more:
via 

1. Workout at least 4 times each week.

2. One "long" run each week, at least 5 miles.

3. Two classes or cross-training workouts each week.

4. Log at least 60 miles running each month.

5. Complete at least 4 races.  I've already signed up for the Rock the Parkway Half Marathon in April (and my brother just joined in on this one with me! yay!), and I'm eyeing the Hospital Hill run, too.  I'm just not sure which distance would be best quite yet.


6. Track all workouts on MapMyRun.
via
-m

Monday, December 3, 2012

Move it Monday.

My super-fab friend TheDomesticWannabe has been participating in "Move it Monday" for quite some time now.  Watching her reach her health and fitness goals and post all about has been so motivating to me!  (so proud of you, girl!)   I've talked about running quite a bit on this blog, but I've never "linked up" with Move it Monday... until now! Now that my blog is all spiffed up (by her!), I figured I'd do my best to join in.  Not only do I hope this helps keep me motivated, but I hope that others join in and motivate each other as well.
That's us before the 1/2, dark and early!
Did I mention my BFF is pregnant?  Yeah.... she's no joke.
To be honest, I'm in a bit of an awkward place with fitness.  I've reached my goal to run 3 miles (back in January), then 5, 6, 8, 10 and have just finished my SECOND half marathon two weeks ago.  Writing that just now, I think, really? Did I do that?  It really is awesome, and I'm proud, but I'm not done.  Running has absolutely given me so much pride and strength, and I really can't imagine my 26th year of life without it.

So what's awkward? I'm not quite sure what to do next.  I've toyed with the idea of a full marathon.  Justin and I both started training, and even picked one out to do in February.  I scheduled all of the workouts, and began training, but it just wasn't there.  I'm not ready for it, and neither is he.  Not yet, anyway.  I don't want to train in the FREEZING cold, and I don't have a lot of extra time on my hands this time of year.  Excuses, excuses.
1/2 #2

So, we joined a gym!  I haven't actually been yet, because of course its now 65 degrees in December. I've stuck with my comfort zone of the pavement, but I plan to try a few classes this week and see what I think.  They have a cycle class and some other strength-type classes that look fun.  We'll see!

My goal is to maintain a 10 mile run every other weekend, with maintenance runs and cross-training classes in-between.  I've already signed up for a 1/2 marathon in March and am looking forward to beating my PR time of 2:19!

Until next time (which is hopefully next Monday......... ) :)
-m